Tags

, , ,

9780316055437_custom-8387e636d286aa86fc16d49b6a17f95c8558d406-s2-c85Happy New Year! Its been awhile since my last post. Due to the holidays and an emergency appendectomy (yikes!), I’ve been laying low and recovering. The nice part of it all was that I got to catch up on lots of reading and excited to share some new books with you!

Towards the end of last year, I was listening to NPR’s Fresh Air  to hear stellar review of Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch. I didn’t think much of it until I ran across an article in Vanity Fair later that week. When I saw it again on a list of notable books for 2013, I went out immediately and got it. I had to see for myself what all the craze was about.

This 700+ page book is surprisingly a quick read (and I don’t read fast). Its a great novel about a life of a young boy, Theos Decker who loses his mother from a terrorist attack at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. From there, the tragedy takes him from Manhattan to Las Vegas and Amsterdam. This novel is full of mystery, struggle and love. Its poetic and provocative and most definitely worth a read.

